PgMP Application Process

PgMP Certifying Process Overview

You must pass two evaluations to obtain the PgMP certification. This process takes approximately four weeks to complete.

PgMP Evaluation 1-Panel Review: The initial evaluation occurs through an extensive application review during which a panel of certified program managers will assess your professional experience based on your responses to the Program Management Experience Summaries provided on the application.

PgMP Evaluation 2-Multiple-Choice Examination: The next step occurs with the multiple-choice examination in which you will be called upon to demonstrate your competence in both situational and scenario-based questions.

PgMP Application Process

  • Verify that you meet the eligibility requirements for PgMP.
  • Create an account at  
  • Complete the on-line PgMP application at and submit. You have 90 days to submit the application once you started.
  • Application completeness review (10 Days)
  • In approximately 10 days you will receive an application approval e-mail from PMI or an email stating -Thank you...your application has been selected for is your audit welcome packet.
  • If your application is selected for audit , you have 90 days to send your audit material.
  • You can schedule the exam until you submit the payment of credential fees.
  •  log into and pay your credential fee ($800 for PMI members and $1000 for non-PMI members). 
  • After you paid the credential fee there  would be a panel review of the application that would take approximately 4 weeks. You will receive an e-mail stating 1 of 2 things 
  • Thank have successfully completed PMI's Panel is your test code OR
  • have failed to pass PMI's Panel Review process...please refer to the PgMP Handbook for our refund policy procedure
  • When you have your test code, go to to schedule your exam. From the day you have passed the panel review you can take the exam upto 3 times during  this 1 year.

Certification Cycle

  • As part of PMI®s Continuing Certification Requirements program, a PgMP® credential holder will need to earn 60 PDUs per three-year cycle.
  • You have to renew the PgMP credential within the three year cycle.  
  • The renewal process is complete once you have reported 60 PDUs and paid the renewal fee.