ITIL management practices

In ITIL, a management practice is a set of organizational resources designed for performing work or accomplishing an objective.  The ITIL SVS includes 14 general management practices, 17 service management practices and three technical management practices:

  •  General management practices have been adopted/adapted for service management from general business management domains.
  • Service management practices have been developed in service management and ITSM industries.
  • Technical management practices have been adapted from technology management domains for service management purposes by expanding or shifting their focus from technology solutions to IT services.

The 34 ITIL management practices are listed below

General management practices 
  1. Architecture management
  2. Continual improvement
  3. Information security management
  4. Knowledge management
  5. Measurement and reporting
  6. Organizational change management
  7. Portfolio management
  8. Project management
  9. Relationship management
  10. Risk management
  11. Service financial management
  12. Workforce and talent management
  13. Supplier management
  14. Strategy management

Service management practices

  1. Availability management
  2. Business analysis
  3. Capacity and performance management
  4. Change control
  5. Incident management
  6. IT asset management
  7. Monitoring and event management
  8. Problem management
  9. Release management
  10. Service catalogue management
  11. Service configuration management
  12. Service continuity Management
  13. Service validation and testing
  14. Service request management
  15. Service level management
  16. Service desk
  17. Service design

Technical management practices

  1. Deployment management
  2. Infrastructure and platform management
  3. Software development and management