ITIL® Expert Certification - IT Service Management

About ITIL Expert

The ITIL® Expert level certification can benefit you in both your personal and professional development, by helping you to advance your career and progress within the IT service management field.

It is aimed at those who wish to demonstrate knowledge of the ITIL scheme in its entirety and the certificate is awarded to candidates who have already attained a range of ITIL certifications and have a well-rounded knowledge and skills base in ITIL best practices.

You also need to achieve the ITIL Expert certificate if you want to achieve the ITIL Master level, which is the highest and final certification within the ITIL scheme.

Route to ITIL Expert certification

There are many possible combinations of modules from the ITIL framework available to those wishing to attain the ITIL Expert certificate, but there are some key requirements:

  • All candidates must hold the ITIL Foundation certificate or a Bridge certification equivalent
  • Candidates must have earned a minimum total of 17 credits from the Foundation and Intermediate modules.
  • The Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) module must then be taken and passed to achieve a total of 22 credits, which is the minimum required for the ITIL Expert certificate.

Once you have successfully completed all ITIL modules required and have earned sufficient credits, you will have achieved a balanced knowledge across the full ITIL service lifecycle and can be awarded the ITIL Expert certificate.

While candidates can earn 17 credits through various learning paths leveraging any combination of the Foundation and Intermediate courses, the experience of trainers worldwide has shown that students wishing to pursue the Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) module benefit from taking the Continual Service Improvement and Service Strategy modules from the ITIL Intermediate certification scheme as part of their learning path.

Candidates who hold the earlier Service Manager or Practitioner qualifications can use these certificates towards the ITIL Expert certificate.


The MALC module sits between the Intermediate and Expert certifications and is the final required certification gaining Expert status. It is intended to help you apply and integrate your knowledge of ITIL in real-world settings and in your own workplace.

MALC Examination Format

  • Multiple choice examination questions
  • 10 questions per paper
  • 35 marks required to pass (out of 50 available) - 70%
  • 120 minutes' duration
  • Closed book.